top of page

New Year, New Work

After a rather long hiatus I welcomed the new year by starting a new painting. This time I'm returning to my first love: oil paint. Smelling the familiar smell of turpentine and linseed oil I'm reminiscing about enjoyful hours spend in front of canvasses in the past.

My theme has not changed that much. I'm still interested, or rather compelled by the intense detail and beauty of the every day.

I'm also currently reading "Drawing on the right side of the brain" by Betty Edwards in preperation for the new school year. The book contains a lot of really thought provoking ideas that I think will benefit my students a lot. I also really connected with the following quote:

"I have learned that what I have not drawn, I have never really seen, and that when I start drawing an ordinary thing, I realize how extra-ordinary it is"

Frederick Franck, The zen of seeing, 1973.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page